{social mediacrity}

socially, mobile-y, & digitally just a bit above average

StrengthsFinder: JM Edition

leave a comment »

I recently took the StrengthsFinder 2.0 challenge.  I resisted it initially, because really – if there’s one thing I know really well, it’s me.  If I think you care about getting to know me, I could talk about myself until you don’t want to know anymore.  In fact, you might wish you had a time machine to go back and retract your initial, “How are you?” But still, as much as I do know about myself, sometimes it’s more difficult to really get my qualities down to a pin-pointed explanation.

I really like the message of the book: focus on what you do well, spending your time improving those areas even more.  I am a big fan of accepting what reality is in life, whether it be good or bad, and while of course improving your weak areas should not be overlooked, I feel we spend way too much time as a society (especially in business) focusing on what is wrong rather than excelling at what already works.  I’m fortunate to feel like I’m on the right track going into something I am already good at and really enjoy, so it shouldn’t be a challenge to shift my focus on my strengths.

Now for the StrengthsFinder analyzation of JM, excerpted from my official report:

  1. Individualization:
    People who are especially talented in the Individualization theme are intrigued with the unique qualities of each person. They have a gift for figuring out how people who are different can work together productively. I think this is extremely true and something I’ve always known about myself.  I find myself to be very understanding of people different than myself, often a step ahead in the conversation.  Most importantly, this helps in terms of understanding the markets and the customers I interact with.  I guess you would say I am a good judge of character.  I can also sense dishonesty a mile away – so watch out…
  2. Connectedness:
  3. People who are especially talented in the Connectedness theme have faith in the links between all things. They believe there are few coincidences and that almost every event has a reason. I certainly believe that everything happens for a reason.  I wouldn’t be here right now if it didn’t, and I wouldn’t be who I am if not for everything I’ve been through.  Knowing that every experience has a way of making something right really inspires me.
  4. Communication:
  5. People who are especially talented in the Communication theme generally find it easy to put their thoughts into words. They are good conversationalists and presenters. This is true and not true.  In writing: yes.  In open conversation: it depends.  I find that in certain scenarios I really struggle to put my thought into word, often tripping over myself in situations I’m not an expert on.  If I am well prepared, I can present like a champion – if not, you will probably hear my mumbles (which I’m convinced is a speech impediment and need to see someone for).
  6. Strategic:
  7. People who are especially talented in the Strategic theme create alternative ways to proceed. Faced with any given scenario, they can quickly spot the relevant patterns and issues. When I was a kid, I would take apart TVs and radios to see how they worked.  I could build something amazing out of nothing.  I loved problems and finding their solutions in every form.  Today, I can write a computer program from start to finish, or develop a well-planned project strategy from a simple idea.  I’m not playing with legos anymore, but I’m still the analytic-minded kid deep down.
  8. Ideation:
  9. People who are especially talented in the Ideation theme are fascinated by ideas. They are able to find connections between seemingly disparate phenomena. I think one of my greatest qualities is the fact that I possess both an analytical and creative mind.  I’m a thinker – and I think big.  Whether or not anything comes of the out-of-this-world thought, it’s a quality that I think sets me apart.

There are, of course, a LOT of things I wish I were better at; no one needs a book called WhyYouSuckFinder 1.0 to figure that out.  But if you really want to know, just sit back, relax, and watch me struggle…

Written by jmchilgren

February 9, 2010 at 12:10 am

Leave a comment